2013 Sustainability Awards

Click here to nominate a peer for the 2013 Sustainability Awards by July 10!


2013 Judges:

  • Rick Bayless, Chef/Owner, Frontera, Topolobampo, XOXO restaurants, Chicago, IL. Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board member. 2010 Pioneers Table Awardee
  • Jane Black, Journalist, Washington Post Columnist, Brooklyn, NY
  • Sara Clow, General Manager, GrowFood Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • Peter Davis, Executive Chef, Henrietta’s Table, Cambridge, MA. 2010 Sustainer Awardee
  • Piper Davis, Cuisine Director/Co-Owner, Grand Central Baking Company. Chefs Collaborative Board member
  • Rebecca Goldburg, Director of Marine Science, Pew Charitable Trust’s Environment Group, New York, NY. Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board Member
  • Sam Hayward, Chef/Owner, Fore Street, Portland, ME. 2011 Sustainer Award
  • Kären Jurgensen, Chef Instructor, Seattle Culinary Academy, Seattle, Washington
  • Fred Kirschenmann, Distinguished Fellow, the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture, Ames, IA. Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board Member
  • Chris Koetke, Executive Director, Kendall College School of Culinary Arts. Vice President, Laureate International Universities Center of Excellence in Culinary Arts, Chicago, IL. 2010 Pathfinder Awardee.
  • Michael Leviton, Chef/Owner, Lumiere in Newton MA and Chef/Co-Owner, Area Four, Cambridge MA. Chair, Chefs Collaborative Board
  • Theresa Marquez, Chief Mission Officer, Organic Valley, La Farge, WI
  • Dan McGovern, Publisher, Sustainable Food News, Portland, ME
  • Gary Nabhan, Internationally-celebrated nature writer, seed saver, conservation biologist and sustainable agriculture activist, Patagonia, AZ. 2011 Pioneers TableAward
  • Nicolette Hahn Niman, Attorney and Livestock Rancher, Bolinas CA.
  • Bob Perry, Coordinator and Chef, Food Systems Initiative, College of Agriculture, University of Kentucky. Chefs Collaborative Board Member
  • Andrea Reusing, Chef/Owner, Lantern, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • Jimmy Schmidt, Executive Chef, Morgan’s in the Desert, Aspen, CO. Pioneers Table Awardee
  • Kim Severson, author/Atlanta Bureau Chief, New York Times, Atlanta, GA.
  • Marion Sullivan, Culinary Institute of Charleston; Food Editor, Charleston Magazine, Charleston, SC.
  • Megan Westmeyer, Fishery Improvement Project Director (FAO Area 31), Sustainable Fisheries Partnership, Charleston, SC
  • Paul Willis, Founder and Manager of the Niman Ranch Pork Company, Thornton, Iowa

Awards Process

  • Nominations due to the Awards Committee by July 10
  • Awards committee selects finalists by August 1
  • Awards Judges will review nominees and select an awardee in each category by end of August
  • Nominees will be notified in August
  • Awards will be announced and presented at the Chefs Collaborative Sustainable Food Summit in Charleston, SC, November 3 – 5